Outside The Library

Museum Passes

Museum and park passes are purchased with funds from the Narragansett Number One Foundation summer reading program grant.


  • Brick Store Museum
    • http://www.brickstoremuseum.org/
    • Located in Kennebunk, Maine
    • Open Tuesday-Friday, 10am-5pm, Saturday 10am-4pm, and Sunday Noon-4pm
    • Free admission for 2 adults and up to 4 children (up to age 16)
    • 2 passes per day


  • Curran Villages
    • https://curranhomestead.org/
    • Located in Newfield and Orrington, Maine
    • Open during the following dates and times:
      • Newfield (70 Elm Street, Newfield, Maine 04056)
        • Sat., Feb. 2: 10-3 Ice Harvest
        • Sat., March 23 & Sun., March 24: 10-3 Maple Sugaring & Irish Celebration
        • May 13-June 13: School Field Trips
        • Sat., May 25: 10-3 (Big Yard Sale Fundraiser 10-3)
        • Sat. June 1: 10-3
        • Sat., June 8: 10-3 & Sun., June 9, 10-3
        • Sat., June 29: 10-3, Bean Supper 5-7 PM
        • Thurs., July 4-Sat., July 6: 10-3: Independence Weekend
        • July 19: 10-3. Extra Carousel Rides at 3, 4, & 4:30 PM. Free Member Bean Supper, 4:30-6 PM. Free Member Yankee Brass Band Concert Performance, 6:30-7:30 PM. Public welcome to bean supper with brass band concert. Tickets $20 per person or $35 per couple. Everyone, please RSVP ASAP, 207-205-4849; we need to know how much food to prepare.
        • Sat., Aug. 31: 10-3, Bean Supper, 5-7 PM
        • Fri., Sept. 27: 10-3 Harvest Festival, Bean Supper 5-7 PM
        • Sat., Sept. 28: 10-3 Harvest Festival
        • Sat., Oct. 5 & Sun., Oct. 6: 10-3
        • Sat., Oct. 12 & Sun., Oct. 13: 10-3 Closing Weekend
      • Orrington (372 Fields Pond Rd., Orrington, Maine 04474)
        • Sat., Feb. 9: 10-3 Ice Harvest
        • Sat., March 23: 10-3 Maple Sugaring & Irish Celebration
        • Wed., May 15: 10-3
        • Wed., May 29: 10-3
        • Wed., June 5: 10-3
        • Wed., June 19: 10-3
        • Mon., July 15-Sun., July 21: Old Home Week
        • Wed., July 24: 10-3
        • Sat., July 27: 7 AM-7 PM. Bus Trip from Ramada Inn Park & Ride, Bangor to Portland to 19th Century Curran Village at Newfield, 70 Elm Street, Newfield, Maine. Tickets on sale now. Limited seats. See details on webpage on this website.
        • Sat., Aug. 24: 10-3
        • Wed., Aug. 28: 10-3
        • Sat., Sept. 14: 10-3
        • Sat., Sept. 21: 10-3 Harvest Festival
        • Wed., Sept 25: 10-3
      • Free admission for up to 8 adults total (for Hollis Center Public Library, Salmon Falls Library, West Buxton Public Library, and Waterboro Public Library combined)
      • Free admission for children under 18


  • Children's Museum and Theatre of Maine
    • http://www.kitetails.org/
    • Located in Portland, Maine
    • Open Tuesday through Sunday, as well as several holidays and Maine school vacation week Mondays
    • 4 people each day
    • 50% discount on the $10 admission for those over 18 months (a year and a half) old




  • Narrow Gauge Railroad
    • www.mainenarrowgauge.org
    • Free train tickets for regular service trains throughout the season and free museum admission
    • The ability to attend special events priced at or below our regular ticket prices FREE of charge
    • $2 off train tickets for guests
    • 10% discount in the museum gift shop
    • 10% discount on facility rentals


  • Seashore Trolley Museum
    • http://www.trolleymuseum.org/
    • Located in Kennebunkport, Maine
    • Open Memorial Day – Columbus Day
    • Free admission for up to 2 designated adults & up to 3 children under age 16


  • Strawbery Banke Museum
    • http://www.strawberybanke.org/home.html
    • Located in Portsmouth, NH
    • Open May – October
    • Free admission for 2 adults and up to 4 children
    • Free admission to special events, including Candlelight Stroll, Ghosts on the Banke, July 4th: An American Celebration, Baby Animals and New Hampshire Fall Festival
    • Free admission to guided tours in November and December
    • Half price ice skating tickets at Labrie Family Skate at Puddle Dock Pond at Strawbery Banke Museum
    • 2 passes per day


  1. Check the museum or park pass websites to check when the organizations are open.
  2. Call the library for which you are a patron to find out if the pass is available on the desired day.
  3. Pick up the pass from either Hollis Center Public Library, Salmon Falls Library, Berry Memorial Library, or Waterboro Public Library.

Note: All passes are available at every library mentioned above except for the Maine State Park Pass, which is only at the Waterboro Public Library. This is a pass that patrons have to have with them to get in. Patrons need to get a Waterboro Public Library card if they do not already have one in order to check it out. It only takes a few minutes.

Other Resources

Town of Hollis, Maine

MSAD 6

Bonny Eagle School District

Portland Public Library

Maine State Library

HelpMELaw

By Pine Tree Legal Assistance

Maine Answers Tough Times

This is a collection of resources featuring state government and non-profit agencies.

MARVEL

Maine's Virtual Library

A searchable database of thousands of magazines, newspapers, and reference books available anywhere in Maine

Get Ready to Read!

This site focuses on the development of early literacy skills before kindergarten. The resources given on this site promote skill-building, communication between adults, and ways to address concerns.